jump to navigation

Permaculture November 30, 2007

Posted by Lindy in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

“Permaculture is about designing sustainable human settlements.  It is a philosophy and approach to land use which weaves together microclimate, annual and perennial plants, animals, soils, water management, and human needs into intricately connected, productive  communities.”

                                                      Bill Mollison, father of permaculture.

 There are many people who have no idea what “permaculture” is or what it means. Others conjure up various images and definitions of what this word means to them personally. For me the word permaculture embodies an entire lifestyle but one that can only be moved into slowly. This is especially true for most of us who have been living a rather traditional (?) American lifestyle these many years.  This past April, 2007 I became a graduate of a PDC (Permaculture Design Course) through the Phoenix (AZ) Permaculture Guild and their many wonderful and fully certified teachers. This intense 72 hour course was a life-changing event.  No, this change in life did not happen overnight as I had at first thought it would but rather is evolving slowly as I live each day, read, learn, and gain ever more experience. If you noticed in my tag line I stated “a room of my own” as well as permaculture, organic gardening, etc. All of these things embody the very nature of permaculture in my life.  Today I added a few more sites to my Blogroll, all of them located in MI. At the end of this school year, May 2008 I plan to return to my home state/area of the NW lower peninsula of MI. A lot is going on in MI and I can hardly wait to get there and become part of all this wonderful action.  One of the greatest strengths of permaculture is its commitment to community.  I live too far from the Phoenix Permie Guild here in AZ to remain a regular part of their community and as wonderful as they all are both my husband and I refuse to move into the polluted megalopolis of Phoenix. I want to move home because of many things: water, greenery, trees, plants, shrubs, food – lots of local organically grown food which is hard to come by here in AZ. For that matter, water and greenery is in mighty short supply here in AZ as well.

“A room of my own”.  I know that my husband will never be willing to build an entire home of our own  – not from earthen materials and not from traditional materials. Therefore I am prepared to build “a room of my own” on the land we will buy that already has a house on it. This room will be my studio, my escape, my place to meditate, to practice yoga, to read and to knit, and perhaps to spin and weave (when I learn how). This room will be built of a combination of earthbag building materials and cob. First I will build an earthen oven with the help of a wonderful book: Build Your Own Earth Oven by Kiko Denzer.  This book coupled with classes being held in the NW MI area along with the large community of permies in this area should set me on the path to building this “room of my own”.  I have been collecting books and pictures to help me along this path. I had also been trying to work on a journal but decided to move to a blog instead. Through this blog I am able to share what I am doing with anyone who may be interested and sharing is a large part of the philosophy of permaculture.

I will keep you all posted as my dreams and plans progress.

Namaste, Lindy

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

