jump to navigation

April Flowers April 6, 2008

Posted by Lindy in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yes, I know. The little rythme doesn’t go quite this way – unless you live in the desert or perhaps anywhere across the southern USA. In our case it’s more like “March showers bring April flowers.” The desert is in full bloom right now with Prickly Poppies, Desert Marigold, tiny purple flowers, the gorgeous native plant with bright orange flower whose name escapes me at the moment, and lots of Plantain popping up everywhere. The Mesquite trees are just beginning to leaf out and are a brilliant shade of fresh new green. The weather is dry and sunny with highs in the 80’s and nightime lows in the low 50’s. Gorgeous weather which we need to fully enjoy now because those 100+ degree days are right around the corner. This means I will get out today to do a little more gardening as well as other outside type chores.  My Rosemary bushes blossomed for nearly a month and have only recently moved on to just beyond the blossom stage – the blossoms turn a light green and dry on the bush. My culinary Sage, which I thought I had lost to winter freezes, is blossoming right now with beautiful purple flowers. My lavender – the only Lavender plant I have left after losing two others  – is also in full and glorious bloom. I’ve planted lots of different kinds of lettuces and other greens in my tiny garden but I was a bit late getting this seed out and so nothing has begun to sprout yet.

My current book is Ecological Literacy: Educating Our Children for a Sustainable World.  This book is the 3rd in the Bioneers Series.  Although I am thoroughly enjoying reading it I can’t help but think it does not totally apply to my situation. I live and teach 4th grade in a tiny rural, migrant farming community. Every one of my students are ELL (English Language Learners). As teachers we are forced to teach to the test and follow the NCLB (No Child Left Behind) law to the letter. Unfortunately this often precludes everything except the teaching of the school’s chosen reading and math curriculums. Although we hear often that it needn’t be this way, that we can include other subject matter, there are only so many hours in a school day and when the students are struggling to understand what they are being forced to learn we end up at the end of the school day with no time left to even relax for a few minutes and review our day. My frustration and anxiety level with this method of non-teaching is reaching an all time high. Our students are being cheated out of a real education for the purpose of passing standardized state mandated tests.

Enough ranting and raving for the time being. I have managed to pull “tons” of weeds this afternoon and still have tons more to go. We are always grateful for any rain we get but there is always a price to pay as weeds pop up by the zillions and grow to record heights overnight. Well OK – a bit of an exageration but when you are the one crawling around on the desert floor pulling weeds and getting your fingers full of stickers cuz everything in the desert is thorny it does not seem like so much of an exageration. 😀

For now, Namaste,

Lindy

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

