jump to navigation

Words of Wisdom – or so they say . . . May 30, 2008

Posted by Lindy in Uncategorized.
trackback

This has nothing to do with either knitting or herbs but it does have to do with another of my favorite things – namely words. A few weeks ago on another blog we were challenged to come up with a mantra in exactly 30 words. Some readers were able to produce theirs very quickly but it took me a few days of thinking and editing to come up with mine. These can be seen on the LizBiz blog. My 30 word mantra goes like this:

 Lindy Says:
May 2, 2008 at 6:46 pm

I think I may have finally done it – a 30 word mantra. I kept coming up with more than 30 and then had a hard time paring it down. This was a good exercise:

Be Here Now
Be thankful for each day
Honor, embrace, extend to all life:
Respect
Love
Kindness
Patience
Dignity

Communicate w/ honesty + tact
Cherish imagination, dreams
Build relationships
Enjoy solitude
Namasté

As long as I don’t count the w/ and the one + I have just 30.

A day or so prior to this 30 word mantra challenge we were discussing (on the same blog) the Four Fold Way, or as some call it, The Four Path Way.

Following is my response to that post:

Your Four Path Way sounds remarkably similar to The Four Fold Way I have used for many years – something I meditate on each morning as I close my daily yoga practice. It goes like this:

1. Show up; choose to be present

2. Extend honor and respect

3. Value the art and craft of communication

4. Responsibility and discipline

I just may change the name of mine to The Five Path Way and add:

5. Let go of the outcome
(we must learn what we can control and what we cannot control)

I read about mine (I have adopted this as my own with my own modifications and the ways in which I adapt this to my life) many years ago in a book by the same name written by Angeles Arien. I also have one of her Tarot books. Reminding myself each morning of these four steps (soon to be 5 ) helps me deal in more effective ways with my classroom full of 9 and 10 year olds all day every day.

Today, on the NPR website, I ran across another challenge using words. This is called “Six-Word Memoirs: Life Stories Distilled”. The challenge is to describe your life in 6 words. There are some very interesting 6-word descriptions on this site.

The article begins: “Once asked to write a full story in six words, legend has it that novelist Ernest Hemingway responded: “For Sale: baby shoes, never worn.” The link to the NPR website – Talk of the Nation, Feb. 07, 2008 – http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=18768430

I came up with my 6 word story about my life while practicing my daily yoga:

“Locavore kneads yoga, fiber, books, nature.”

Now it’s your turn – I would love to hear what some of you come up with.

Namaste, Lindy

Comments»

1. Liz - June 18, 2008

Hi Lindy

I’ve been wandering online and found Asus Eee 701 4g laptops in the USA for under $300. On Amazon.

Get the 4gig and not the 2 gig as there’s not much of a price difference.

Check the spec and see that you’re getting a webcam. Don’t pay extra for Windows. The Lunux Open Office software works really well.

Regards
Liz

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000ZLSWJ0?tag=vowesianopsoh-20&camp=211493&creative=379989&linkCode=op1&creativeASIN=B000ZLSWJ0&adid=035NDDQK4Z6YPQF96X4P&


Leave a Reply

